Wanna Know More About Her?

Being young is not a hindrance for you not to travel the world or locally. Some people wants this but are afraid to travel alone or the budget is not enough.

Here is Aileen, a Filipina who has traveled the world in the age of 21. She proves that you can do anything and go everywhere in the world if you put dedication and hard work to it.

Here is a brief life story of Aileen.

untitled

I am Aileen. (Pronounced as “I-leen” and not “A-leen” ☺)

MY HOMETOWN
Born in Manila but raised in the green and hilly island of Batanes, I’m a proud full-blooded Ivatan. (Legit island girl!) I’m the youngest out of three siblings and I’ve lived in Batanes for almost 15 years. After graduating from high school, my family permanently moved to the city and I think it was a great decision given how moving to Manila had later on provided me with a lot of new opportunities and experiences that helped me become the person that I am today.

MY PAST CORPORATE CAREER
From the start of my university studies up until 2 years after my graduation, I got involved in four (4) different multinational companies here in the Philippines: Nestlé, Unilever, Siemens, and Deutsche Bank. I worked as a trainee for the first 3 corporations and it was in Deutsche (an investment bank) where I got my first full-time job at the age of 19.

MY TURNING POINT
Dipping myself since 2009 into communications, marketing, branding, and investment banking, I eventually put a stop to my corporate career in April 2013. Yes, I quit my job despite my good performance and future promotion.

For sure, it was a promising career, but I chose to leave the whole ‘sense of security’ and shebang that came with it…. It’s just that after meeting people from different countries, hearing their inspiring stories of struggle/success, reading self-help books, and simply working on that desk for more than 8 hours a day — trying very hard to live my life well despite such a low pay* — made me decide once and for all that corporate work was NOT my passion.

I have always liked to control my own time as I work on building an enterprise that I would personally run. I also want to travel the world, to move around and to see ‘new’ interesting stuff as I gain location independence.

*I mentioned ‘low pay’ because despite my beefed up resume and university credentials, I didn’t earn much at all from my past job. I was really faced with the harsh reality that no matter how good my background was, fresh graduates will always be underpaid. Add the fact that I lived in a 3rd world country then the pay was often not fair either even as time passes by. To be precise, I only earned $300 a month!

MY CURRENT LIFE
Today, everything worked out really well because I now run my own online business named as Adalid Gear as I continue to travel the globe — it’s certainly the perfect lifestyle for me!

All in all, I’m glad I had the courage to ‘break free’ because now, I’m having the time of my life ♥

…How did it happen? Well, I came to this point in my life by relearning my true passions in life (design, marketing and entrepreneurship).

 

If you wanna know more about her and follow her to her daily lives. You can check  out her own website http://iamaileen.com/

May this serve as an inspiration to all of us!

 

Leave a Reply

